How do I terminate my Twitter account? 5 easy steps for Elon Musk cynics

Is it time to bail out on Twitter?

Opinions on the move have been swirling on the platform, many tagged with #RIPTwitter, on Monday after news broke of the company’s impending sale to Tesla CEO and world’s richest person Elon Musk.

Sentiments ranged from conspiracy theories to promises never to use the platform again when Musk takes over the company, to celebrations of an end to perceived “censorship” policies.

Even Twitter co-founder and CEO Jack Dorsey appeared conflicted over the future of the short message platform, which has attracted more than 320 million users since it launched to the public in 2006.

On Monday, Dorsey tweeted about his continued love for the business he helped create over 15 years ago, but he also shared feelings of ‘regret’ about how the platform has evolved. and appeared to celebrate its imminent transition from a public entity to private control. .

But, Dorsey also wrote that he wasn’t sure the platform belonged to anyone while praising Musk, a self-proclaimed ‘free speech absolutist’, as the person best placed to take on the challenge. control of Twitter as a private owner.

So, for those looking to get out of the Twitter game for good, or maybe just need to give themselves a timeout from the platform, here’s a handy guide assembled by TechStory on how to put those handles on. rest for now or forever.

From the mobile app or web browser, you can deactivate your Twitter account. That’s how you do it.

1. Tap your profile avatar in the Twitter app.

2. Select “Privacy and Settings”.

3. Click on “Account”.

4. Select “Deactivate your account” from the drop-down menu.

5. Tap “Deactivate” to confirm that you want to deactivate the account, then reconfirm the deactivation.

Using a desktop browser, disable Twitter by doing the following:

1. Open a browser and go to Twitter.

2. If necessary, log in to your account.

3. In the left Twitter bar, click on the three-dot “Plus” symbol.

4. From the context menu, choose “Settings and privacy”.

5. Click on “Account”.

6. Select “Deactivate your account” from the drop-down menu.

7. Tap “Deactivate” to confirm that you want to deactivate the account. A second deactivation confirmation is required.

TechStory also noted that when canceling accounts, users must make certain adjustments to account settings if they deactivate a Twitter account but want to use the same username or email address with a new one. account later. The decision to deactivate is usually permanent, although the platform allows you to reinstate an account within 30 days. It’s gone for good after that.



Source link

Comments are closed.